…a Hipster Kitty pattern

I’ve been kind of sick the last couple of days, so my energy has been pretty low and I’ve made up for that by being really grouchy. Nothing makes me happier when I’m sick than memes, kitties and snarkiness. Thanks to Hipster Kitty, I can have all 3.

Making Hipster Kitty was easy. I’m getting better at drawing every time I do it, so I was all over the layers for this one. The background was a bit of an issue; no one wants to do 10,000 stitches of the same color just for a subtle backdrop. Instead of doing solid yellow, I attempted a couple different fades. The star burst was okay, but it didn’t really cut back on the stitch count. I finally went with the yellow stripes, which created a similar effect without the hassle. I wanted to do a posterizing fade, but it just didn’t look right, so the lines are straight. It gets the point across.

My biggest problem was figuring out what to write on it. I posted the quandary on the regretsy forums to see if I could get someone else to do the work. Eventually I decided on “Photoshop is too mainstream. I cross stitch my memes.”

I posted it on Etsy immediately. The next day I realized, “I cross stitched before it was sampled,” was better, but it was too late. I may offer it as an alternative within the listing when I get around to it.

Hipster Kitty

If you’d like, you can buy it here: Hipster Kitty on Etsy.

This entry was posted in Cross Stitch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment